• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

How long to build up embouchure?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Saxondale

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:47 pm    Post subject: How long to build up embouchure? Reply with quote

Hi everyone 🤠
I started playing sax about 6 months ago and progressed well, then about 3 months ago decided I would try a trumpet as well.
I have really been struggling with embouchure strength and the middle of my top lip always swells up.
I then tried a trombone thinking that the larger mouthpiece would help which it has to a certain extent but I get other problems like double buzzing and weak airy sound in some registers.
On both instruments I just can't seem to build any strength and it almost feels like there is no muscle in the centre of my top lip.
Is it possible that my anatomy will prevent me from ever progressing or do I need to be more patient?
Obviously a teacher would be great but the current situation prevents this.
Maybe I should just stick to sax?
Thanks
Dale
deleted_user_687c31b

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just my opinion, but 3 months seems way to short to draw any meaningful conclusion as to whether you're physically able to play an instrument or not. Learning to play any musical instrument takes time, especially if you don't focus on a single one but pick up multiple at the same time. As for brass instruments in particular, a big part of your sound is due to how you use your lips and that's certainly not something you can train in a few weeks.
Dayton
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is it possible that my anatomy will prevent me from ever progressing or do I need to be more patient?

Welcome to trumpet playing!