• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Coming back again

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rickoak

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:43 pm    Post subject: Coming back again Reply with quote

After a break of ~13-15 years I'm making my second comeback and kicking myself that the first one didn't stick. I've found some useful tips and links in this forum.

I started playing in middle school in the early 1970's on a used Ambassador ca. 1966/67 but quite during high school because I didn't like marching band.

Around 2000 after a ~25 year break I made my first comeback. I bought myself a ca. 1980 L.A. Benge and joined a local community band. This comeback lasted ~5-7 years. During that time I picked up a cheap flugel and three vintage cornets, two of which are still good players.

Unfortunately life and work got in the way and without meaning to take a long break I didn't start up again until two to three months ago.

As I knew it would be, starting up again was hard, but after practicing almost every day my range, endurance and general skill level have made major strides, but I still have a lot to work on, especially speeding up my reading and my fingers. I've taken a few lessons which I found very useful to get me on the right track. And most of all I'm really enjoying playing again.

Rick
deleted_user_687c31b

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome back (again)!
camelbrass
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me too.

After about 3 months I'm now back to acceptable shape but still well short of what I was producing when life got in the way. I really enjoyed being able to competently play tunes again and rediscover my 'voice'. It's all about the music.

Regards,

Trevor
Dayton
Heavyweight Member