• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Comeback player new to TH

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
johnha

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 4:43 am    Post subject: Comeback player new to TH Reply with quote

Hi All,

My name is John and I'm in Lancashire (UK). This is my 2nd (perhaps 3rd) comeback to the trumpet. I started learning when I was about 9 with a school borrowed horn and lessons, played for 2-3 years but then sadly (looking back) stopped. My parents had bought me a Bach 7c mouthpiece, which years later, became a prized possession. I was in the Scouts but didn't get that much exposure to bands outside of annual carnivals or the occasional brass band performance, my interest wained. While at university I had an ambition to learn to play Sax, but the concept of blowing through/over a reed didn't appeal.

A long time later (2009) I re-discovered my 7c and a few days later bought a used (but pristine) Yamaha YTR-1335 in gold lacquer from a local music shop. They had new horns for similar prices from manufacturers I hadn't heard of (I did zero research), but the Yamaha was an easy choice. I 'tested' it (more my ability to get a note out of it) in a corner with the 7c beforehand. I was working in Southampton at the time and took some lessons locally and attended a few events & performances linked to the music school.

In 2011 I moved back to Lancashire but didn't find (or perhaps look for) a tutor and since then I've wavered between playing and not playing several times. At one point I was practising 30-60 minutes a day, keeping a record in a diary and buying sheet music (mostly too advanced for my ability). I felt progress but then various things happened in life that had to take priority. Like many, I'm now annoyed I stopped originally and didn't keep going after the first comeback.