• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Another older man looking for a horn.

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
awajazz

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 10:13 pm    Post subject: Another older man looking for a horn. Reply with quote

Greetings,

I am new to this forum and I have been lurking about for the past few days.

I am one of those who wants to return to the trumpet after a long hiatus (about 50 years).

I am in the market for a good, used trumpet, something that will most likely outlast me and keep a resale value.

I am a long term resident of Japan so, I would prefer to shop within Japan. I am also leaning towards buying from a shop as they would carry a warrantee.

I have read a lot about Yamahas, Bachs and just recently, Besson/Kanstul, if I got that brand name correct.

I am sure that there are as many opinions as members here and I suspect that once I reach a certain price range ~$1,000 or more, I should be able to find a nice horn.

As a longer term jazz-oriented piano player, I would like a horn that will sound well in this genre. I personally am not looking for nose-bleed high notes, but more of a mellower, single malt whisky vocal-type sound, if that makes sense.

A few questions.

Is it true that Bach had off-years in production. If so, which years should I avoid?

What is the difference between the Yamaha 6335 series vs the 8335 series?

I have heard a comparison of the Besson vs Yamaha and I seem to like the Besson better. Anyone have experience of the two?

Are there specific concerns for each horn?

Thanks in advance.

Bill
Goby
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote