• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

high squeal

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lozza

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:01 pm    Post subject: high squeal Reply with quote

I have been playing for about 5 years, but only took the trumpet up when I retired aged 65. I was gradually improving over this period until about a year ago I developed a squeal when ascending particularly anything above F# or G above the staff. I have had lessons from a couple of teachers but neither can come up with a solution to this problem. I have tried various mouthpieces and embouchure position but to no avail. Has anybody out there had similar problems and if they overcame the problem how?
Seymor B Fudd
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 3:14 am    Post subject: Re: high squeal Reply with quote

lozza wrote:
I have been playing for about 5 years, but only took the trumpet up when I retired aged 65. I was gradually improving over this period until about a year ago I developed a squeal when ascending particularly anything above F# or G above the staff. I have had lessons from a couple of teachers but neither can come up with a solution to this problem. I have tried various mouthpieces and embouchure position but to no avail. Has anybody out there had similar problems and if they overcame the problem how?

Welcome to the TH! You found the BE - good idea but;
Squeal?? Wordsworth´s Concise English Dictionary:"to utter a high-pitched cry";"to cry out in pain"...
How do you do it? All preceeding notes sound OK? Hard to understand!
Shouldn´t be a mpc problem (unless you have a really weird mpc, or a horn with leaks or a...etc.).Beats me!
When I try to play above my range, squeaky sounds may be heard.....
Have you been able to play above G on staff?