• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Blessing a "student" mouthpiece?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
loweredsixth
Heavyweight Member

Location: Fresno, California, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 5:10 pm    Post subject: Blessing a "student" mouthpiece? Reply with quote

I've been playing trumpet for 36 years now. I was a music major in college (stopped just a couple classes short of getting a B.A to focus on getting a B.A. in math instead). I'm just giving this background so that you know I'm well versed in playing the trumpet, and fully understand the ins and outs of trumpet gear.

One thing I'm curious about is what makes a brand of mouthpieces to be seen as "student" or beginner mouthpieces.

I've been on a Curry 5C off and on for the last 10 years or so, but I like to try other gear occasionally. I bought a Blessing 5B off eBay just out of curiosity, and I'll be damned if this thing doesn't play wonderfully. It's very similar to the Curry (cup shape seems somewhere between the Curry C and B), and the rim is slightly wider than the Curry. The backbore is definitely larger (more free blowing) than the Curry.

I'm very impressed with this mouthpiece that is considered by pretty much everyone as a cheap brand, or a good brand to buy for a child.

Considering there are no moving parts in a mouthpiece, it's overall design is fairly simple. There are only a handful of design elements that exist:

1. Quality of brass (or other metal) used
2. Quality of plating
3. Mathematical parameters of all the parts of the mouthpiece
4. Precision/accuracy/consistency of manufacturing

So, which of these elements can make the Blessing brand (which I believe are made by a large manufacturer in Germany who makes many other brands) NOT a professional mouthpiece?