• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

The Most Terrifying Words

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 5:19 am    Post subject: The Most Terrifying Words Reply with quote

After I've played - and enjoyed playing - Jay Lichtman's rendition of Concone's Vocalises my eyes return to the top of the page and I cringe as I see:

Trumpet in A, Bb, B, C, D, Eb, E & F.

That's like instructing me to drive the green and putt out in two.

Where to begin to figure this out?

I majored in a lot of stuff I don't use anymore, not music.

"The notes are there - find them.” Mingus

2021 Martinus Geelan Custom
2005 Bach 180-72R
1965 Getzen Eterna Severinsen
1946 Conn Victor
1998 Scodwell flugel
1986 Bach 181 cornet
1954 Conn 80A cornet
2002 Getzen bugle
HERMOKIWI
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a story about someone playing a circus gig. The tempo is insane and the key is in 7 flats. The player barely has time to turn the page and the next section is in 7 sharps. Someone has penciled in, "Don't give up your day gig!"
jhatpro
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2005 Bach 180-72R
1946 Conn Victor
1998 Scodwell flugel
1986 Bach 181 cornet
1954 Conn 80A cornet
2002 Getzen bugle
american boy
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the serious side,I would start with playing them first in C and get used to doing that,then move to D..Those are the usual transposition challenges we have to face,although the others do show up on occasion of course;
Richard III
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote