• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Help to decide on a student horn for a beginner

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  

Best choice for a beginner trumpet
Yamaha YTR-2330
40%
 40%  [ 11 ]
Getzen 300 Series
44%
 44%  [ 12 ]
Nikkan (Yamaha) YTR-2310
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Yamaha YTR-1335
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Yamaha YTR-1310
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Yamaha YTR-236
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Olds Ambassador
14%
 14%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 27

JonY

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 3:01 pm    Post subject: Help to decide on a student horn for a beginner Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

New to the forum and this is my first post.

I am a beginner looking for his first trumpet and have narrowed my choices to the following in order of most expensive to least:

Yamaha YTR-2330
Getzen 300 Series
Nikkan (Yamaha) YTR-2310
Yamaha YTR-1335
Yamaha YTR-1310
Yamaha YTR-236

With the exception of the Yamaha YTR-2330, all are used and found on eBay. These brands were considered due to their reputation for quality and consistency. I am looking for something that is easy to play, great intonation, good sound, and something that I would be able to stay with for a long time.

Would love to hear your thoughts on these horns and which you think would be the best. Also if you think that an Olds Ambassador from the 60s and 70s would be a better choice. I did consider one but it is not on the list as I am concerned about the condition and consistency.

Thank you and hope to hear from you guys.

JonY
Bflatman
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ytr 3335 is a player and exceptional quality for a student instrument with reversed leadpipe design for great performance for the money.

It does not cost that much more than the 2330 and is worth a look and a blow in case it suits you better than the 2330.

Yamaha are very fine instruments.