• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Looking for a student routine

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Yorch

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2021 8:01 am    Post subject: Looking for a student routine Reply with quote

Hello guys,
I am learning trumpet and I would like you to recommend me a good daily routine.
I can play for an hour every day.
Thank you very much!
F. Besson Class A Cornet (1891)
Dayton
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2021 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to trumpet playing! Harold Mitchell's "Mitchell on Trumpet" is an excellent method. It has a series of 80+ lessons to practice daily. They start at the complete beginner level and go to the very advanced level. Highly recommended. Note that you can also purchase it as a pdf under the title "Harold Mitchell's Complete Trumpet Method" from qPress (qpress.ca).

Bill Knevitt's "The Developing Trumpet Player" is also quite good and available from qPress.

If possible, however, the best thing you can do is work with a teacher. He/she can help you develop a daily routine -- what to practice and how to practice it -- that is tailored to meet you needs.

Good luck!
royjohn
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2021 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eric Bolvin's *Arban Manual* might be a good place to start. You would, of course, also need a copy of Arban, but Bolvin breaks it down into a set of lessons for you to follow. You can study the comments on other method books, such as the Clarke Studies and Etudes, Flexibility Studies, Bai Lin, etc. and decide on what else to add as time goes on, but Arban is a good place to start.