• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Lifelong musician, beginning trumpeter

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
joelf

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2021 6:33 am    Post subject: Lifelong musician, beginning trumpeter Reply with quote

Hello forum:

My name is Joel Fass. I've been a professional guitarist-composer-songwriter for most of my nigh 67 years, active in jazz and somewhat in pop.

I always have been in love with trumpet, perhaps more so flugelhorn. As a single-note improviser I've used that dark; round sound as a model and a 'simulated air column'---a longtime jazz guitar approach.

I finally took the plunge last winter and got me a horn, a decent, clean Hoffer student model---OK to start out with. I had no illusions about making quick progress, knowing at least that lips on brass is not at 1st natural. I reasoned that if nothing else learning some fingering and breath control would give me some good orchestration insight. But I really do want to play, at least for myself.

These 1st months really kicked my behind and humbled me. Just to get a sound; go through lip buzzes; breathing to the metronome; achieve a beginning embouchure. I hit on a local (Philly) player friend to teach me, and he graciously accepted. Now at least I've just started to be able to make the open C G high C and the 1st 4 of a C scale. Believe me, it's progress when 2 weeks ago I could hardly control air passage enough to play any note in tune.

It's a test of patience when you know music having been involved for your life, but now must start as a baby switching to the 'brave new world'---but I'm determined, and inspired.

Advice an encouragement would be welcome. Thanks!...