• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Cleaning the horn: how often?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
joelf

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 6:07 am    Post subject: Cleaning the horn: how often? Reply with quote

I knew I'd have to get to it---the horn's stopped up and notes are cutting off midway through long tones. So I watched 2 good videos, and knew about the snake brush from Clark Terry's vid.

I guess some regular preventative cleaning will stave off the saliva/grease buildup and clogging. But I'm a noob. Though the video showed clearly how to take the horn apart and put it back together; the 'malleability' of the lower valve parts and generally how gently to treat the various parts I'm afraid I'll screw up and maybe cause some slight damage.

Think I'll wait to do it the 1st time under the watchful eye of a player friend...
trickg
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There really isn't much to cleaning a horn. I have 4 things that I typically use for a basic cleanup:

1.) bore snake - preferably rubber coated
2.) Valve casing brush
3.) Mouthpiece brush
4.) Microfiber towels

You'll also need to have your lubricants on hand to refresh lubrication on slides and to oil your valves.

The main important thing to think about when cleaning up your horn is to be very careful with the valves and valve casing so as to not scratch them. Otherwise, get the horn in a sink full of lukewarm/cool water with mild dish detergent, and scrub out the lengths of tubing once you've taken the horn apart. The brass tubing is more durable than you might think.