• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Learning jazz

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Trumpetstud
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:32 pm    Post subject: Learning jazz Reply with quote

Just want to get opinions

I’m an average adult student learning jazz for the first time. I’m just curious how long it might take to become a solid jazz player. I know I’ll never be a pro (just not a lot of time left) I’m 56. Anyway what do you think I could expect it to take to learn the language and not be embarrassed to do any kind of performing. I also understand there are many variables just want your opinions. Thanks.
Goby
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1-2 years of study with a serious professional should be adequate. If you're willing to do a little practicing, listening, and transcribing every day, you should progress quickly.

Selection of a teacher is a very important aspect for learning improvised music. A majority of the inflection and feel has to be learned by ear and by imitation, not so much "read the notes on the page and present a polished performance of this well-notated etude". There are a lot of self-proclaimed experts and jazz educators who are relatively disconnected from the music, so make sure you dig the way your teacher plays before you start taking advice from them. Ideally, your journey should be self-motivated but guided by someone who will know how best to help you reach your goals.

With the current situation of the world, many excellent musicians are teaching virtually, so it has never been easier to have access to fantastic instructors.