• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Advice on fighting Acid Reflux and Neck Puff?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
alternaterep

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2021 7:48 pm    Post subject: Advice on fighting Acid Reflux and Neck Puff? Reply with quote

I've been playing trumpet for 6 years, and have really been taking it seriously the past 3 years or so, with my sights set on being a professional trumpet player. In the last 2 years I started developing neck puff that created a domino effect, causing pain when I play, difficulty swallowing, and at its worst, it caused my vocal cords to fatigue easily.

Through all of this, I began trying to fix these issues however I could. I started doing exercises to strengthen my throat, and I'm still actively working on playing more freely.

It wasn't until last year, however, that I realized I likely had acid reflux for a while, and I have a theory that this worked in tandem with tense playing to cause many issues for me. Initially, I believed that trumpet playing caused discomfort in my chest, but once I figured out that it was reflux it made a lot more sense. After finding out my reflux was actually pretty bad, I began chasing down ways to tackle my reflux issues, hoping to reduce my reflux and prevent further injury from trumpet. This theory has been proving somewhat successful, although not even close to a "silver bullet". (As with any solution.)

I'm a fairly stubborn person when it comes to my passions, and I'm not willing to go down without a fight. I also believe that I've made a lot of progress in playing more healthily, although I'm not sure that I haven't passed a tipping point.

I wanted to make a quick post and see, has anyone else ever had an experience with acid reflux affecting their trumpet playing?

Would anyone have any advice?
LittleRusty
Heavyweight Member