• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

The most significant process Ive ever learned.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lionel
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2021 3:16 pm    Post subject: The most significant process Ive ever learned. Reply with quote

Since starting over on an absolutely new embouchure back in late 2019 (November, '19 to be exact), I have been thrust into a position that I thought Id never be in. That is being an absolute beginner once again. Just like I was in the fourth grade back in Sept of 1964. Roughly 57 years ago.

Certainly, I have some important advantages over what a true beginner finds himself in. I read music well, know all the fingerings. That despite not being able to play well, I am still a musician. I hear pitches well and can identify intervals etc. But as for my embouchure? It took me a full year before I could confidently attack our top line F. (I'm not talking about the third ledger line high F, A darn good note to have if you are a lead player like I once was). Just the mere F that sits with the line of the to treble clef running through it.

The most significant thing that I've learned since starting over is that our embouchure will and must ''grow in resonance''! This ability to vibrate affects everything from the quality of sound to endurance and how much volume we can generate. My upper lip wasn't ''born to play trumpet'' it had to grow in resonance. Until once so grown that I could basically take my embouchure for granted.