• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Embouchure Problems

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Galaxysun

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 11:49 pm    Post subject: Embouchure Problems Reply with quote

Hey all, I've got a pretty rough ask today

Background : I've been playing trumpet for 4 years and have developed pretty well, I gig quite a bit and I'd say play at an intermediate level as a jazz musician.

But I've hit a really rough wall and I think it's a problem with my setup. I've discovered that my embouchure is very low down and my top lip curls over my bottom, which openly gets worse as I go up the Register. The result is mediocre endurance and a range hard capped at high A, High C has always been a matter of strain.

I believe I breath well and have very little stress in my body overall as these have been key things I've focused on. I've just noticed that no
matter how much air I push through my horn or tongue arch I use my range never seems to improve, nor my endurance.

I'm aware that self diagnosed embouchure fixes aren't the best solution but I'm just looking for solutions

Cheers
Dayton
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry you are having embouchure problems. You understand how important your set up is for successful trumpet playing, so don't leave the solution to chance. Get help from an experienced teacher. Good luck!
trickg
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 5:08 am    Post subject: Re: Embouchure Problems Reply with quote

Galaxysun wrote:

Background : I've been playing trumpet for 4 years and have developed pretty well, I gig quite a bit and I'd say play at an intermediate level as a jazz musician.