• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Considering starting a mouthpiece safari, looking for advice

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TiredChops
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 11:39 am    Post subject: Considering starting a mouthpiece safari, looking for advice Reply with quote

Hello All,

I have been playing Curry mouthpieces exclusively for nearly 12 years. I have been pleased with them, but I'm considering looking at other pieces now.

The reason for my interest in starting a safari is that over the last 2 years I've really made some significant improvements in my playing. As I started to improve I bought a new trumpet and the new horn jumped me up yet another notch.

After thinking about how my hard work and a new trumpet combined to boost my ability now I can't help but wonder if a different mouthpiece would also be of benefit.

I play both trumpet and cornet. I use a Curry 3BBC on cornet and I'm happy with that piece. For trumpet I play a 3C. 95% of the time for general work. Now I'm playing in a dance band and I need some zing to my sound (and any added ease of high range would be nice also).

I've looked at some Bob Reeves and GR and I'm stunned at how expensive they are, so buying a boatload of mouthpieces on a whim is not an option.

I have all the popular Curry trumpet pieces, here is what I experience with each:

3C. - great for quintet and concert band work

3M. - My current "Lead" piece, but I'm wondering if there is something better out there

3Z. - No doubt this is a bright piece with some zing to it, but it's so shallow that I bottom out on it.

3*. - This one is weird for me. I don't really get much of a boost from it, but it is bright.