• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

First Mouthpiece Safari

View previous topic :: View next topic  
LiamTrumpet

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2021 5:37 pm    Post subject: First Mouthpiece Safari Reply with quote

Hey. I've been playing for the past 5-6 years in school and I've been one of the better players. I've used a Yamaha 11B4 that entire time. I want to start exploring and see what kind of mouthpiece works best for me because I hear it can be a good experience to graduate from one's first mouthpiece. Right now I have pretty good tone and can play up to the D above high C. Any tips for me?

Also, I mainly play pop/rock stuff both in school and in my own practice.
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2021 8:21 pm    Post subject: Re: First Mouthpiece Safari Reply with quote

Quote:

I would start with subtle changes. If you're playing pop stuff, the mpc. you are now playing may not be what you need. I played a Schilke11, similar to your Yamaha, in school and college, in concert band jazz band and it was O.K. for the pop stuff, but if I was doing it now, I'd use something different

My advice is to start with another Yamaha 11 range, since you're already accustomed to it, but with something a more appropriate for pop/bog band like

TR-11A4 16.46 3.65 Medium rim diameter with a shallow cup for easy high notes. Ideal for piccolo trumpet and jazz idioms.

TR-11A5 16.38 3.65 Wide rim shallow cup with a slightly large back bore delivers a rich upper range with ease. Well-suited for piccolo trumpet.

TR-11B4 16.46 3.65 A somewhat shallow cup and medium rim for extra endurance. Brilliant tone. Suitable for D, Eb, and piccolo trumpets.

Yamaha 8310Z Bobby Shew trumpet
Benge 3X Trumpet
Benge 3X Cornet
Adams F-1 Flghn

Last edited by kehaulani on Thu Oct 14, 2021 6:01 am; edited 2 times in total
Brassnose
Heavyweight Member