• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Hummell & Haydn, Bb vs. Eb Playing pros v cons

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ECLtmpt2
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:04 pm    Post subject: Hummell & Haydn, Bb vs. Eb Playing pros v cons Reply with quote

By the time I graduated school the Hummell nor the Haydn ever made it to one of my jury recitals. I'm only talking about the 1st movement in each. The school did not have an Eb (in working order) so I did my best to prepare on my Bb's. The/my Hummell was OK, maybe a B-/C+ on the Bb but the music director had me play a secondary etude for the grade instead. Next semester I went at the Haydn, again with a Bb but the (high Eb) was always sketchy so I didn't even ask and went with a substitute piece. I got through school but kind of feel I never conquered the 2 top pieces most trumpet majors did.

To me these are 'mountains' I didn't climb yet (in public performance) and I'm as determined as ever to recoup some personal respect by getting them both to performance level competence. The local JC will give me the opportunity if I can satisfy the performance requirements.

Question: How does playing the H & H on an Eb, lets assume a good one, change the players perception or reality of playing these iconic pieces compare to trying to do them on a 'good' Bb? ...Easier, harder, more intonation traps, tone issues, etc, etc,... This is just a side project but if I need to get an Eb to make it work I'd like to know your thoughts. I do have a Yamaha "C" I've been told could help?. Not sure how that helps but it's been suggested. I think I need, or would have a better chance of success, with an Eb horn. Opinions welcome.
abontrumpet
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2021 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote