• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

I don’t have a consistent embouchure

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
J0AP23

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2021 8:14 am    Post subject: I don’t have a consistent embouchure Reply with quote

I’ve been playing trumpet for about 3-4 years now and I’ve had this same problem. My embouchure is not consistent. When I play it’s like figuring out how to play all over again. I pick up my trumpet mess around for a minute and when a note comes out I’m doing something right. This doesn’t last very long and my chops get really fatigued.

This also started lots of really bad habits. The main ones are breathing and pressure. I cannot last long when I play and it sucks. I have to practice so much because I got to an arts school and I’ve never gotten through a full day without feeling like crap. My band director doesn’t know what to do and I’ve been trying to figure stuff out but nothings working. He says it’s a mental problem which I’m kind of starting to believe.

The pressure problem is starting to go away but I need an embouchure that I can practice on and I feel like starting is the best way to do that. It’s really hard to do because I still have to practice for all of these classes and I can’t find time to focus on both things. It’s especially hard in the beginning of those classes because I want to play in class but I also would like to practice when I get home and improve.

I know I need to develop the embouchure that I didn’t when I first started playing so I can play without having to go through this every single day. I just don’t know how.
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2021 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you looked at any of the online youtube videos about 'basic trumpet embouchure'?