• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bach vs Yamaha trumpets

View previous topic :: View next topic  
victoratanazio

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2021 1:20 pm    Post subject: Bach vs Yamaha trumpets Reply with quote

Hello guys, I'm a graduate student in trumpet performance and I wanna know if you guys agree with me in this following statement:
Bach still has the best sound but the balance of the Yamaha trumpets still ahead of Bach.

I really like Bach trumpets, the sound it's just amazing but the easiness and balance that Yamaha give me it's confusing me in what directions for equipment should I take.

Thank you everyone,

Victor Pires
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2021 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is a good question, and the answer will probably be 'it all depends'.

For NOW, you are a student and your choice of instrument should be whatever one will be most useful to get the most value from your trumpet training.

A big part of answering that question, is whether a particular instrument will be required or desirable in your career at a later time.

If using some instrument will be important in your professional career, then it might be a good idea to devote your 'student time' to learn how to use that instrument as well as possible. Especially if changing instruments might be difficult or especially time consuming.

What instruments are used by the 'guest soloists', 'masterclass presenters', or 'well known professionals' in your area?
Oh ya, watch the conductor - they set what is 'on time'.
Dayton
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2021 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From my perspective you should judge the horn by how easy it is to get the sound and...control...you want. The Bach and Yamaha professional trumpets are all well made, and top professional players use both.