• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Discouraged

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BarryWilson

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2021 3:29 am    Post subject: Discouraged Reply with quote

I'm an amateur who has been playing off and on for over 50 years (age 66). At about the age 60 I was able to find time to practice more and even started playing with a couple of groups. This led me to the point where I was playing the best of my life. I had better tone, better range, just about everything was better. But a few months ago I noticed a deterioration in my playing. My tone was not as good and the strides I had made in my upper register disappeared. Then I started getting an odd sound. Sometimes I get what sounds like a second buzz during a tone. It reminds me of those terrible wolf tones woodwind players sometimes get.

My practice regime is mostly fundamentals using books like "Daily Fundamentals for Trumpet" by Sachs. "Advanced Lip Flexibilities" by Colin, "Technical Studies" by Clarke, Allen Vizzutti's books 1 and 2. Obviously I can't do all this every day, but I go through a lot of it each week. And my daily (6 days) routine takes at least an hour.

Anybody got any suggestions? Or are my muscles just getting too old?
Yamaha YTR 8335 Gen I Xeno (Back up horn)
Yamaha Bobby Shew Flugel
Leblanc Paris C
Bethmike
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2021 4:22 am    Post subject: discouraged Reply with quote

I am close in age - 62 - and I need to be sure that I rest during my practice. Are you taking a few minutes off regularly during practice sessions? Are you breaking your practice into 2 or 3 sessions during the day?

Maybe mentally you're just not into it at the moment, and a week off will rejuvenate the motivation.

You'll find the answer!

Best,

Mike
Yamaha 631 Flugel