• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Replacement valve for 1890s King Cleveland 600?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Joshua's Horn

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 6:40 am    Post subject: Replacement valve for 1890s King Cleveland 600? Reply with quote

Hello, I have been given what I think is an old King Cleveland 600. On the bell it says Besh-Ge-Toor, Cleveland Ohio. On the base of the second valve, the serial number is 4678, which I think could place it as old as the 1890s (but please do correct me if I am wrong as I am no expert). The second valve is in bad shape and needs replacing. Any advice on whether a replacement valve exists and where I might find one? If not, would it be worth making a custom replacement for an old horn like this? Since the second valve is leaking air, it is hard to get a sense of how the horn would play. Many thanks for any guidance.
Andy Cooper
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spend some time at this website -

http://www.hnwhite.com/Cornet%20Page.htm

Do you find something that looks like your cornet? Check the Cleveland section too. The Cleveland's have a different serial number range.

If you spend a few months on e-Bay and shopgoodwill.com, you might find another cornet from that period with valves that could be made to work by a skilled repair person. There are a few people who could make one from scratch. Either way, you are looking at considerable expense.

If you just want a playable cornet, there are many on e-Bay for less than $200.
Joshua's Horn

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for your advice. It is a trumpet not a cornet. I did not see it on the HN White page but it was a very useful website for information, so thanks again for sharing that. I appreciate it.
Crazy Finn
Heavyweight Member