• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Nostalgia for us comebackers

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
TheMartiniMixer

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:23 am    Post subject: Nostalgia for us comebackers Reply with quote

Hello trumpet brethren.

This forum has been super helpful and a godsent for the past year as I took up my S32 again. Since there isn't much I can contribute, I thought a personal sharing of why I chose to comeback might motivate more comebackers

I started trumpet in middle school and upon high school, I was honoured to be under the tutelage of a sweet old trumpet lady in Los Angeles/Anaheim who showed me true love of this wonderful instrument. However, due to some personal issues, I wasn't able to play even since I graduated from college. It was only recently that I learnt of my teacher's passing that I thought... I owe it to her to keep playing. "Perseverance" was her motto which she reminded me everytime I was down and even though I am late for almost a decade, life has taught me it's always better late than never. I am, however, greatly regretful that I did not comeback sooner while she was still here and now, only her handwritten notes in my Arban keeps me steadfast whenever I touch my horn.

So the goal I have now is to hopefully retrain myself to be good enough to perform this one particular piece: "Aria Con Variazioni" to inspire combackers (and youngsters here) to enjoy the trumpet. On that note, you guys have been a great help! I heeded your advice and got some lessons from a teacher and concentrated my practices on rebuilding quality strength rather than quantity raw hours of practice.

Thank you admins again for letting me join and maybe I'll post a video of my recording someday!
Christian K. Peters
Heavyweight Member