• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Kanstul California Model 101, the one and only

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Stradbrother
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2022 5:50 pm    Post subject: Kanstul California Model 101, the one and only Reply with quote

In October of 2018, I was at the lowest point of my life.

An odd way to start an article, but my journey with the Kanstul 101 started there. In my grandma’s living room in Kentucky, being ousted from a job I saw set up to fail. A violent classroom in a community that didn’t value or care about music and an administration that told me, “just suck it up and use your anger for classroom management”. Six months prior I graduated from college with my Bachelor’s in Music Education and was ready to be a high school marching band director for life.

I quit that job, and my administration cared more about the certified UPS overnight envelope that told me I had broken my contract than me. I didn’t care. On a whim, I had a bag packed for California. California paid well, jobs were everywhere, the sunshine, the eccentric people, and it was a blank slate for me. Far from any judgment I had to deal with in every small rural Kentucky town.

Little did I know, California was expensive. I thought it was expensive in Chicago or New York. No, this was another level. I landed with $700 in my pocket and quickly found myself almost sleeping in my car in the San Francisco Bay Area. Luckily I found a substitute teaching job and my life did a 180. I was a blank slate to be who I wanted, gigs and jobs were everywhere, and I was playing 5 nights a week. It was the first time I ever felt like I was in the land of true opportunity.