• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Embouchure troubles with high notes

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DavinG

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2022 4:28 pm    Post subject: Embouchure troubles with high notes Reply with quote

I've been having a little bit of trouble with building my range. At the moment, I can play up to a double A without any serious pressure headaches, or tension. But whenever I try to go even a half step higher, to a Bb, the note only comes out for a very short amount of time and I feel like I need to change my embouchure. Despite this, chances with my aperture, or tongue placement don't seem to help me get higher.

Any and all tips are appreciated
GeorgeB
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm no expert, but I suspect you are running out of air. Try taking a deeper breath. Up there, the more air you have, the better.
George
1938-39 Olds Recording
1942 Buescher 400 Bb trumpet
1952 Selmer Paris 21 B
1999 Conn Vintage One B flat trumpet
2020 Getzen 490 Bb
1962 Conn Victor 5A cornet
kalijah
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I can play up to a double A

You mean A above high C ?
JayKosta
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2022 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's the A above the staff, then it might be too much upper lip mouthpiece rim pressure - so much that the pressure inhibits lip flexibility and vibration / pulsation.