• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Overcoming Performance Fear

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Michael Coon

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2022 6:58 pm    Post subject: Overcoming Performance Fear Reply with quote

Hi
I started playing two years ago, after being away from the trumpet for 45 years. I practice regularly. I’m performing Bach’s Chorale du Veilleur at my Christmas Day church service. I still get super nervous playing in front of people. Last Sunday as people were coming in I choked and my playing was a total embarrassment from my nerves. I’ve practiced this piece and was playing it fairly well until the rehearsal, in front of people.

I contemplated quitting; if I can’t handle playing live what’s the point? In fairness this will only be my second performance of this kind since high school.

How can I get over the fear of performing? I don’t want to quit but man, my pathetic performance has greatly discouraged me. If athletes and musicians can overcome then I need to learn how. I’m 64.

Thank You,

Michael
jeirvine
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2022 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It happens to everyone to some degree. Play in front of your family or friends at home. Video yourself playing. Tell yourself "there's no-one else in the room who can play this piece as well as I can right now." (That's almost always true). I find focusing on specific notes or phrases within the piece gets my mind off the Whole Piece and "The Audience".