• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Schenkelaars Prestige: Actually really good! Try if you can!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tony125

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2023 7:19 am    Post subject: Schenkelaars Prestige: Actually really good! Try if you can! Reply with quote

Hi,

I think the Schenkelaar trumpets, specifically the Prestige and Prestige Royal's, are actually very good and you might be missing a great bargain if you dismiss them altogether.

Let me explain:
I've been playing for almost 30 years now, owned some horns through the years (Jupiter's, Bach's, Yamaha's), now settled on some very nice Selmer horns (B700 and B900 Lightweight large bore)...

Was looking for an 'extra' horn, just to have on the stand ready in the practice room....

Here in The Netherlands you can find a lot of "Schenkelaars" trumpets. Most of them, especially the real older ones are just not very good. In fact, Schenkelaars has had a bad rep here in The Netherlands, they went out of business many years ago partly because of that.

However... I heard and read that the last years of production, just before they sold their ecquipment to Adams (all known by most of you I think) they renewed their trumpet line completely and that the Schenkelaars Prestige, Prestige Royal and their Topaz lines were apperently quite good... It was in the years that I believe Hub van Laar also worked there (but correct me if I am wrong). Anyway, they went ouf of business, still having a bad rep.

Though never able to play one of these later modeles, but that changed when I found a used but in very good condition Schenkelaars Prestige model for only 100,- euro's on our local Craigslist (Marktplaats) and some time later a Prestige Royal for the same amount. What could go wrong... I bought both .