• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Bb /C conversion cornets

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Convertible cornet options?
Sure, there might be 1-2 horns workable
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
You’d be surprised how many workable versatile cornets are out there
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Give me a break, just get a C cornet, for crying out loud!
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 0

tsveggie

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2023 2:34 pm    Post subject: Bb /C conversion cornets Reply with quote

Please be gentle since I’m no professional but trying to get good for retirement work in nursing homes and such.

I have some issues matching Bb solos with piano accompaniment so I’d rather ad lib vocal solos
But in case of selections using both mediums, are there any convertible cornets that could be recommended for both Bb and C keys?

Capri cornet
Capri flugelhorn
Committee cornet 1956
Franklin imperial
Martin imperial
Martin Indiana
Rwwilson
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2023 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know of any modern Bb/C conversion cornets. If you are interested in vintage cornets, such cornets seem to have been common in the late 1800 and early 1900's. At that time many cornets could be purchased with an array of tuning slides and tuning bits that would allow them to play in different keys, most commonly C, Bb, and A.
tsveggie

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2023 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an old cornet with two lead pipes. It might be missing the C valve slides.
I expect any conversion to be vintage. I have two with a conversion valve before the valves, I will give details in next day or two.

Capri cornet
Capri flugelhorn
Committee cornet 1956
Franklin imperial
Martin imperial
Martin Indiana
SSmith1226
Veteran Member