• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

GR mouthpieces vs Lotus

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Franzizzle

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 4:58 am    Post subject: GR mouthpieces vs Lotus Reply with quote

Hello everybody,
I am new to trumpetherald. Hope you can help me.

The recent hype around Lotus mouthpieces got my attention. I understand they are marketed as the "new benchmark". I was wondering if someone has any experience with Lotus and another benchmark brand, in particular GR mouthpieces, which is an established brand what Lotus may not yet be.

Are Lotus and GR mmouthpieces of the same quality? Do they offer the same advantages/ disadvantages? Could you try both and what would you choose?

I unfortunately cannot go to a shop, try both and compare myself. That's the reason why I ask the question here.

In advance, I'd like to thank you for your help, advice and experience.
Hub Van Laar Oiram Ack
Adams A5
Bach 72H
Benge 3X LA
Brassnose
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have played a GR 65SZ, 65MS, and a Lotus 3S-N (along with a Lotus 7XL-B and a GR 65FL flugelhorn mouthpiece) for awhile. That’s the upside, the downside is I am only an amateur hack

Anyway, both are very good mouthpieces, on par with other hype/high end/fashionable mouthpieces, some of which I have played as well, some not.

Generally I found both brands on the brighter and more powerful end of the spectrum. Of course some relates to the fact that all trumpet pieces I played are on the shallow side of things. Both are very well made, too. So, if you are looking for a bright, powerful, open, and brilliant sound with loads of bite or sizzle, those could be it. I found the GRs (including the flugel piece) to have a certain „sterile“ or „generic“ sound, a little „clean“, if you wish.