• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Why can't I play certain mouthpieces?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TriumphantTrumpeter
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 11:17 am    Post subject: Why can't I play certain mouthpieces? Reply with quote

Just wondering if anyone can explain why, when I have tried some mouthpieces such as shallow Bach trumpet and Cornet mouthpieces and Rudy Muck mouthpieces I can barely play a note with them and it's often muffled and unpleasant sounding.

I do note that the one's I struggle with are fairly shallow - might that be why I struggle with them.

Not a problem just something I find myself wondering about.
CG Conn New Wonder Cornet
King Master Cornet
Buescher Aristocrat Trumpet (2)
Rudy Muck 7M Trumpet
Musechaser

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm no expert, I have no idea, really, but the answer is probably "everybody's different."

My own trumpet-playing arc began in Jr. High school. Dad led an incredible big band made up primarily of NYC theater players and seriously working cats. I was a violinist at that time (and still am), but always more enthused about jazz piano playing and worked hard at that, too. However, exposed to all that exciting big band stuff, seeing Maynard live a few times, and meeting a bunch of the monsters on Dad's band, I knew I just had to play screech trumpet.. so I taught myself on a beater loaned by a kind band director at school and a 10 1/2C. By 10th grade, I had a pretty reliable F/F#, and an occasional G. The problem was... I could barely make a sound below third space C, and had absolutely zero flexibility or tone.