• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Learning trumpet without lessons

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bent tubing
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 2:26 pm    Post subject: Learning trumpet without lessons Reply with quote

Hi there I'm a 72 yr old wanting to learn the trumpet and my question is can I learn to play the trumpet without a teacher or private lessons. Is it at all possible or can it not be doable?
tomba51
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's certainly possible, there are tons of self taught players. But progress will probably be faster with a good teacher who can point you in the right direction and prevent you from making basic mistakes in your approach.
Billy B
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 2:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Learning trumpet without lessons Reply with quote

bent tubing wrote:
Hi there I'm a 72 yr old wanting to learn the trumpet and my question is can I learn to play the trumpet without a teacher or private lessons. Is it at all possible or can it not be doable?

No
huntman10
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 3:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Learning trumpet without lessons Reply with quote

Billy B wrote:
bent tubing wrote:

No

Agree with Bill, but stranger things have happened.

Do you have any experience playing any wind instrument? That might help a little. Or if you are some kind of savant??

Or know someone who plays and is patient. Of course, not all trumpet players can teach. I have a trumpet degree and music teaching certificate and played for 62 years, and haven't taught in nearly 50 years and I wouldn't recommend me to teach anyone anymore!
Selmer 25, Getzen Eternas, Kanstuls (920 Pic, CG)