• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Playing trumpet with lower dentures

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GeorgeB
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 3:43 am    Post subject: Playing trumpet with lower dentures Reply with quote

I have been playing just fine with a full upper denture for the past 8 years. But now, at almost 87 years of age I am facing the possibility of having to play with a full lower denture.

Anyone here with this kind of experience and can you play trumpet with a full lower denture ?

Help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

George
1938-39 Olds Recording
1942 Buescher 400 Bb trumpet
1952 Selmer Paris 21 B
1999 Conn Vintage One B flat trumpet
2020 Getzen 490 Bb
1962 Conn Victor 5A cornet
Halflip
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 6:33 am    Post subject: Re: Playing trumpet with lower dentures Reply with quote

GeorgeB wrote:
. . . and can you play trumpet with a full lower denture?

Chet Baker did (full upper and lower dentures). However, he frequently complained that (for him) they tended to slip. He eventually taught himself to play without dentures, and was able to perform that way (albeit with deficits in certain technical aspects of his playing).

Present day advances in dental prosthetics may give you a much more favorable result. I would consult with your dentist regarding the importance of your trumpet playing.

If you already know any or all of this, please forgive the gratuitous information.

"He had no concept of the instrument. He was blowing into it." -- Virgil Starkwell's cello teacher in "Take the Money and Run"
kehaulani
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 7:26 am    Post subject: Re: Playing trumpet with lower dentures Reply with quote

Halflip wrote: