• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Tuning Problems

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Menaceboi

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive been playing trumpet (on and off) for around 7 years. Recently, ive been practising more and devoting more time for music, joining more ensembles etc. Ive noticed that i do have a tuning problem. Whenever i play beside another trumpet player, i feel that im always out of tune. I reckon the problem lies with me because it happens no matter who i sit beside with. I begin practising with a tuner. Play a Concert Bb, in tune, mouthpiece away from my chops. I put it back and play and it's out of tune again. Everytime i start a note, it's a different tuning.

I identify this tuning problem that im facing could be due to 3 reasons. 1st, my emborchure is weak. 2nd, my attack is inconsistent and lastly, bec MY EAR SUCK.

This is also perhaps i m not able to hear the note that i want to play and the "center of the pitch" problem.

Anyone ever encounter tuning problems as serious as well and managed to curb it? I would appreciate if someone provides some solutions for me on how to improve my tuning.
turd_ferguson

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm no expert on this subject but I'd say continue practicing with a tuner and adjust accordingly. You might want to try some pitch bending exercises as well. Bend the pitch down and when you come back up it's easier to find the center of the note where it best resonates and plays in tune. Another way of improving your ear is to learn solfege and sing the notes.
bigbrowncow
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote