• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Where to start??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Comeback Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
alwyswinn

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just getting back to the trumpet haven't played for a long time. I am a music student i already play violin and would like some suggestions on getting back into playing. probably this question has been asked perhaps someone could point me in the right direction.
INTJ
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Find a good teacher. You probably won't need weekly lessons. Lessons once every 3-4 months from a good teacher will work well. Here is my teacher's website. He has helped me a bunch. Check out his wesite as well as the websotes of others until you find someone you "connect" with.

http://www.bbtrumpet.com/index.html
_swthiel
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you want to come back ... welcome!

I can give you a few suggestions.

First, Find a teacher who can guide you. It seems reasonable to me that a little attention when you're rebuilding your chops -- I wish I'd done that when I got back into playing. While some aspects of my playing are better than before my "hiatus," I think I also managed to rebuild some of my bad habits. Some focused lessons in the first months would have helped me avoid rebuilding the problems.

Second, check out oj's "Comeback Trumpeters Guide" at http://abel.hive.no/ctg/ This isn't what I did -- I didn't know about it when I started my comeback -- but it's worth checking out. Ole's compiled a lot of information. Give it a read!