• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

New name for KTM?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Claude Gordon
View previous topic :: View next topic  
EBjazz
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello CG forum;
I studied with Claude from 1978-1984 or thereabouts. From my discussions with John Mohan and others, I have realized that the way that I learned how to position my tongue through my lessons with Claude is not the same as those who started their lessons earlier. This quote will help you understand:

<On 2001-12-05 16:30, EBjazz wrote:
I find that when teaching KTM it is important not to "tell" somebody to do it, rather to let them discover it on their own.
This is what Claude did with me and it took quite a while before I realized what I was doing. Claude never said "KTM is the way you should be tonguing, start doing it today". On the contrary. He would ask "So, do you notice anything about KTM?" at every lesson and I would say "Uhhh..like no or something" and we'd move on. End of discussion. Until one day I didn't say no, I actually had observed something...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi there Eric,