• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

MENDEZ, CLARK,GORDON ,MAGGIO relationship

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Rafael Méndez
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trptdoc
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 10:19 pm    Post subject: MENDEZ, CLARK,GORDON ,MAGGIO relationship Reply with quote

In the years that I studied with Claude Gordon we often talked of his relationship with Mendez and especially the era during which they both studied with Herbert Clark. If you listen to Gordon's recordings he often sounds like Mendez : great tongue and finger speed,etc,. I believe they were both in the studios together as well. CG and Mendez both also studied with Maggio about the same time I believe. I'd be interested to know more about these connecticons. Can anyone shed any light?

Larry Miller
oj
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Claude Gordon studied with Clarke for a long time (10 years). He was indeed a student of Clarke. I have the impression that Mendez only had a few lessons with Clarke? In one, Clarke gave him his "Tech. Study" (autographing it).

In 1932 (after the swing door accident) Mendez contacted Schlossberg, Clarke and Walter Smith for help. All told him to stop playing and let it heal. But he played and got worse. Then he went home to Mexico and stayed with his father (working on pedal exercises). This helped him. When returning to US again he sought up Louis Maggio.

But, can you call Mendez a student of Clarke and Maggio?
(If I had a few lessons with NN, I would not call me a student of NN. )

Ole
Trptbenge
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote