• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

teaching/learning improv

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tryingtolivethelife
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

now, I have been learning to improvise for just over six years... well as long as I've been playing trumpet. It seems all I really like to practice is scales and modes and figuring out sounds/learning solos. My thought is; the ideal thing, as I've been told, is to be able to look ahead musically at what you will play. To play a melody or something along that line, not just scales and arpeggio's(I say along that line because breaks and such are not usually melodic). Some even say you should be able to sing the solo you would play. Like to always know whats coming next and not sort of just BS through changes. Well then, why is it then improvisers are taught to play on a scale or a few scales to start with. And how come nobody ever seems to have a begginer sing a solo and the transcribne it? How can we be expected to play with melodic thought when from the beggining people tell you, "play this scale here, or this chord means this mode" Why not, ask the student what their ear hears over the chord, have them sing "their" safe notes. And where they here the resolution and the transfer that to the instrument. I guess I'm trying to say, if improve is taught the common... here is a penta tonic scale way, the scales you know and your ability to navigate a chord change becomes whats key. And your limit. If you were taught how to match the pitches in your head, perhaps you would be a better, true improviser. Thoughts anyone?