• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

A major difference between Flexus and Caruso?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Carmine Caruso
View previous topic :: View next topic  
HJ
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:51 pm    Post subject: A major difference between Flexus and Caruso? Reply with quote

Hi,

Totally risking my life here, but anyway.

I am a devoted BE student and have nothing to complain about the results. Since I am always searching for new methods and points of view for myself and my students I ran across Flexus on this forum.

I have the MCFB book and tried to get the basic concept, but I did not get it to work for me. BE got my fundamentals right, so I don't think I want to go through a whole CC course (and if I ever consider this I will look into the getting started threads: great work!. At least made the whole concept conceivable again for me).

Just because I heard a lot of good stories about Flexus and because I was looking for some new ideas to do next to BE, I ordered the book. I took an evening to understand the basics, listened to the CD and decided that I want to give it a try. It covers all the technical stuff that everybody eventually has to study, so why not from this book. (It has a lot of interesting studies). The roadmap was very clear, and I just follow the guidelines in the book. And that is where I discovered why I think this book might work for me where the MFCB book does not. It is not about the roadmap, because if I wanted that I'd just look up the getting started notes on this forum. It is this:

'Maintain the mouthpiece pressure and placement and keep the lip tension constant during the rests. Keep the setting until no notes are sounding. '