• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

HELP with teaching beginners

View previous topic :: View next topic  
derekph

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Part of this might belong in the Carusso section of the forum. Sorry.
I've been teaching trumpet to beginners for about 2 years now and sometimes I struggle to keep the students interested (especially to practice every day) in the trumpet. It's hard when the mainstream radio and video music stations don't usually have trumpet on them (except for the stray Cake song) and that's what the kids get fed all day. First, how do the teachers on this forum keep their students interested and excited about practicing the mundane stuff like lip slurs and tonguing? Then, more specifically, can you recommend books where I can get some cool tunes out of that the kids will like AND they'll get something out of them?
The Caruso stuff seems invaluable to me for developing my muscles, but the exercises are pretty boring (especially to a young kid). What's the psychological trick to getting them to do the stuff that's boring?

[ This Message was edited by: derekph on 2002-07-24 03:05 ]
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Emb_Enh
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recommend a series of books. Get book 1 called:

"The Jock McKenzie Tutor Book For Young Brass Players" by con moto publications

To accompany them yourself, get the Piano accompaniment book which comes with a free CD, if'n you can't "tickle the ivories," in which case you'll need a CD player in lessons.These are available online from Tony Cresswell at http://www.mostynmusic.com

This series of books goes up to [so far] book 2. Have fun!..there are tunes with [Piano/CD] accompniment right away!