• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Mario's breathing advice

View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:37 am    Post subject: Mario's breathing advice Reply with quote

I've been playing Stamp on and off for many years. Several years ago, I purchased Mario Guarneri's tape, Brass Basics and the Berp. As you probably know, Mr. Guarneri's teaching is largely based on Stamp's ideas. I recently listened to the tape again for the first time in several years. I noticed something I hadn't noticed before.

Mr. Guarneri recommends placing the tip of the tongue behind the upper teeth during inhalation. Not a minor point, if you ask me.

I'm just wondering if any of you die hard Stamp guys have been taught this. I cannot find reference to it in the Stamp book or the Poper book. Does anyone know if it's an idea which originated with Jimmy?

All comments welcome.
trptcolin
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I can't answer your question directly, but I had a lesson a couple years ago with Mr. Poper (a great lesson that's still helping my playing), and he recommended a similar thing (getting the tongue in place to articulate during the inhalation). Does Mr. Guarneri mean to have the tongue there the whole time, or just at the end? The lesson I had was awhile back, so it's a little hazy. But you're right about it not being a minor point---a lot of people would strongly disagree with that idea.
-CJ
trumpetherald
System Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't speak for Roy Poper or Mario, but Bert Truax used to teach us to say 'hot' in certain situations when inhaling - the 't' at the end of 'hot' functioning to place your tongue in an appropriate place for the initial articulation.