• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Serial Number on a Bundy

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hemi Powered Trumpet

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: Serial Number on a Bundy Reply with quote

I've got an old Bundy student horn that I've been marching with for about 3 years now. It was bought new by my second cousin, who graduated HS in 1973. It was probably bought much earlier than that.

The serial number is 222678. Its label says, Designed by Vincent Bach BUNDY H&A Selmer, Inc. I think it may be a post '61 considering that it was purchased in the Sixties, and that it has the Selmer and Bach names on it.

Just how old is this thing?
fcirkse
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello - standard Bach serial number lists put it at 1981- 1982.
Hemi Powered Trumpet

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's kind of new. I thought it was Sixties, because that's when he got it.
plp
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect you are probably right about the serial number. The Bach guides probably don't include the Bundys, try under Selmer and see if you get a more accurate year.

The Bundy has taken a pretty bad rap over the years, kind of the Rodney Dangerfield of the trumpet and cornet world, but a bunch of top notch players are the ones complaining, so maybe they really aren't as bad as some would say. I'd certainly rate them better than a Director.
ZeroMan
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

plp wrote:
I suspect you are probably right about the serial number. The Bach guides probably don't include the Bundys, try under Selmer and see if you get a more accurate year.