• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Jamey Aebersold

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
musicmonkey
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2002 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know there have been other topics on these books, but I just got a couple for Christmas and I was wondering how you all approach them.

Are they part of your everyday practice? Do you read the whole book, then go back and play the exercises? Do you jsut use them for fun?

Just looking for some insight that may help me get the most out of these books...

mm
boofredlay
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2002 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am by no means an expert on the subject but I have had my Abersold books for a while now and still have not read either all the way through.
I have just started out with the CD for fun. Playing riffs while looking at the scale charts. Then playing without looking at them and realizing how much I need to study my sclaes.
I only had the first book a month and it helped me with a performance. I generally steer clear of ad lib solos but I had confidence enough to try. I was impressed with how I did and so were others. Not to say it was great, but I did fine.
Good luck.

Eric

[ This Message was edited by: boofredlay on 2003-01-03 08:08 ]
mark936
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm interested in the responses you get. I stopped by a music store and bought all the ones they had today. 5 of them.

Jamey's website http://www.jazzbooks.com talks about the order, guess that would be a good place. They have a forum also. And Jamey takes part. What surprised me is the amount of guitar players using the play alongs. 80% of a recent poll seemed to be guitar players.