• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Mendez and the Maggio System

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Rafael Méndez
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nestbeast
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:06 am    Post subject: Mendez and the Maggio System Reply with quote

Many years ago I studied briefly with Carlton Macbeth. He taught the Maggio System. he told me that Mendez was also a Maggio student.
Mendez never mentions Maggio. I was told that Maggio help Raphael get over a lip injury. Does anyone know anything about this?
trpt.hick
Rafael Méndez Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your facts are a little turned around. Mendez taught Maggio how to play pedals.

When Mendez was young, he loved to play pedals. He often used them as part of his warm-up. When Mendez and Maggio played together in one of the Detroit theaters (Maggio was second trumpet to Mendez, even though he was much older), Maggio asked Mendez what those notes were and why he used them.

When Mendez had his lip accident (swinging door hit his bell while playing) in Detroit, Mendez had a major lip infection. The infection was literally burned out of his lip by a Mexican doctor who used a soldering iron!! Anyway, scar tissue prevented Mendez from being able to play at all.

Mendez went to several of the greatest teachers -- Schlossberg, Walter Smith, Gustat, and Clarke -- but none could get him to sound a single note. Mendez then went back home to take lessons with his father, a band leader who could play all of the instruments a little. His father put him on tons of pedals.