• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Do I really need a double C?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bachstrad
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there some professional purpose to practicing to a double, triple, and even quad C? Right now I am a highschool student who has been playing for about 4 years or so. I am just now playing a fairly consistant high C above the staff. Even with this fairly limited range(so it seems on this board that is) I sit first chair, significantly above people cranking out, G's and even double C's. This is because they have frankly wasted their time on range exercises while i have developed an extensive technical expertise. I have never even seen anything above the Eb above C written in any piece of music. Am i the one that has wasted his time? Should i have been working on double, triple, and quad C for the past 4 years? Or is Double C simply some kind of bragging right for those that have mastered everything else?
bachstrad
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick Addition to my post:

While there is those really screaming pieces out there(ive seen the orchestral excerpts at my private instructors home), isn't that what a piccalo trumpet is for?
histrumpet
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

On 2003-03-20 00:19, bachstrad wrote:
Is there some professional purpose to practicing to a double, triple, and even quad C?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Some professionals would reply that by practicing in the extreme upper register it is easier to play musically in the upper register.