• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Become a Trumpet Player BEFORE a Jazz Player?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Jazz/Commercial
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Xenoman
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am beginning to think that perhaps I have tried to tackle too much in my endeavour to be a trumpet player AND a jazz musician. When I first started playing the trumpet a pro player told me that I should first learn to become a trumpet player before I embarked on my journey to try and improvise. I saw the value in it then but I see it even more now.

For those of you who do not know - I've been playing for 2 years now (not a comeback player). There are many jazz related studies that I cannot practice or benefit from because I lack mastery of my instrument. Example - I can't play some modes because I simply don't have the range. Instead of focusing on the sound of scale or exercise, I'm struggling or focusing on just getting sound out because the notes leave the "safety" of the staff. Same applies to some transposition - it's too high (I usually just end up transposing the heads or harmonies to songs instead of the solos). Now I can definitely see where the pro player was coming from when he told me to become a trumpet player before moving to jazz.