• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Trumpet vs. Cornet Intonation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Cornet/Flügelhorn
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BudBix
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 5:54 am    Post subject: Trumpet vs. Cornet Intonation Reply with quote

I have noticed something about my playing that is pretty much consistent across different brands of cornets and mouthpieces.
First off I am trained as a trumpet player but I have been playing cornet seriously for the past 3 years. On my trumpet the second line G and third space C are easily in tune with each other. If I tune to one the other will be in tune too. But on cornet if I tune to C I find the G very flat and if I tune to G I find the C very sharp. This seems to be the case on all of the Besson or Besson clones cornets I have tried.

Does anyone have insight on this? I usually play a Wick mouthpiece on cornet but I have tried different brands and the intonation problem remains and since I do not have this problem on trumpet I wonder if it is a peculiarity of cornet playing.

-BudBix
Richard III
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Questions:

1. What kind of cornet are you playing?
2. Which Wick are you using?
3. What trumpet mouthpiece do you use?

This will likely expose the answer, but I won't give it away yet. I know from my own experience the difficulty of matching cornet and trumpet MP's to get the best of both, or maybe the best of one and compromise of the other.

Conn 22B Trumpet
York Eminence Model 4028 Cornet
1903 Conn The Wonder Cornet
BudBix
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. York Preference large bore
2. Wick 3
3. Bach 3C

Last edited by BudBix on Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:19 am; edited 1 time in total
lpennel
Veteran Member