• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Stamp teachers

View previous topic :: View next topic  
frmrleadplyr
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:38 am    Post subject: Stamp teachers Reply with quote

Is there anyone in the Midwest that studied with Stamp? I attend a university in Omaha, Nebraska and am originally from South Dakota. I studied with a professional trumpet player in Omaha who got me started on Stamp, but he never took lessons from him. I'm hoping that I can meet with someone who has studied with Stamp and can help me learn more about the method. Thanks!
chipper983
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not quite midwest, but I studied with Roy Poper at Oberlin in Ohio. He's full of Stamp knowledge. Check out his summer institute if you can.
Dave Loken

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try Ron Romm at the University of Illinois. He studied directly with James Stamp, and he's a great teacher. Very nice guy, too. Ronnie's got some fascinating stories about J. S. and his abilities as a teacher and troubleshooter. Good luck!
martijn.zijlmans

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I studied with Arto Hoornweg in the Utrecht Conservatory in Holland. He studied with Stamp in his last days. Arto also goes to the Summer Academy in Oberlin. If you have the chance to go there, do so!

Martijn
danielgerona

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you ever visit Dallas, try taking a lesson with Bert Truax. He studied with Stamp, and that's the basis of his teaching. All his students are taught and use Stamp.
JoshRzepka
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll second Roy Poper at Oberlin.