• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

An Open Letter To Capt. Kirk

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TupeloCOTA
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:26 am    Post subject: An Open Letter To Capt. Kirk Reply with quote

Dear Capt. Kirk,
Over the past month or so the hostility and rhetoric surrounding you has increased a lot. I have stayed out of these discussions and really don’t mind your posts one way or the other, but last week I had a thread pulled after you posted so I feel compelled to say something about this and to all here on TH.

First, let me introduce myself. My name is Russell and I’m a trumpet player. I am not a professional musician, I am not in the music industry in any way, shape or manner, and in fact I don’t even play in a single ensemble. Right now I’m just a guy who practices trumpet in his back bedroom when the wife isn’t around. A long time ago I was a fairly decent trumpet player, good enough to be a performance major in a good university program. I took a detour and ended up on another path, but last year I picked up my horn after almost 25 years and discovered that I have a tremendous passion for this thing. That’s why I am here on TH. I spent that 20 plus years in the military, so I have given and received plenty of criticism. Since I am new here I kind of see myself as an outsider and I hope that that makes me objective.