• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Zaja Oil!!!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
isler
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone use this crap?? I used it on one of my horns and it made my valves feel like they had sand in them and also my horn smelled like POO.
Vziegler

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using it for several years, and it works fine. I especially like the grapefruit aroma because it doesn't smell at all, so when I squirt it into the leadpipe (per Schilke instructions) the trumpet doesn't smell like a garage.

Valarie
Greencastle, IN
trump_it
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure to completely clean all valves before applying Zaja. Zaja is a different type of oil, and combining it with any other type will cause the valves to freeze up. Clean your valves, reapply the Zaja and report back to us!
pastbrass
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of the pros I work with have been using Zaja for some time and love it. You must start with clean valves as Trump_it suggests as it dosen't mix well with other oils. I use it on some of my vintage and even antique horns and find that it works great. Try using a scent other than poo and you might be very pleased. Lemon is one of the least stinky but the French Vanilla will have the rest of the section wondering about you.
It really is good oil,
Scott
trickg
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the way that it lubricates just fine, but I'm not too crazy about how it smells. I really thought that I'd like the vanilla scent too, but it about sickens me and anyone else that is close enough to smell it.