• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Essential Books

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Fundamentals
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jungledoc
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:44 am    Post subject: Essential Books Reply with quote

I asked a question about this in another thread, but I thought it might be of wider interest.

What books would experienced players and teachers recommend for players at different stages of development, from beginner to intermediate to more advanced?

I am, of necessity, self taught, a trumpet beginner, but with wider knowledge of music. Yeah, I know what you're all thinking, but really, there is no qualified teacher within several thousand miles of where I live.

So when people mention "Clarke" or "Gordon" in posts, and I look on line, I find many titles by each one. Which ones would help me at the stage I'm at right now? Which ones will I need in a few months or a couple of years? How about other authors?

Thanks in advance for your patience!

I'll admit it. It's a TR300, but it wants to be a Strad when it grows up.
jiarby
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clarke Technical Studies (Pay attention to instructions, go slow, play soft!)
Irons 27 Exercises (Tongue level focused flexibilities)
Arban's Complete Conservatory Method
Colin Advanced Lip Flexibilities, Vol. 1, 2, 3 (more Irons type)
Rich Willey "Scale Force" (the best scale book there is)
Various Etude Books (Charlier, Brandt, Concone, etc...)

I also have been playing alot from Rich Willey's Clarke Variations books:
"Variations on Clarke's Second, Vol1: 24 Melodic Variations through the 7 Modes of the Major Scale"
Vol2 is the same thing, but through the 7 modes of Melodic Minor.
Gate

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote